Picture
1. Facing us - check out my cheeks! 2. Smiling? 3. Side view
Finally! I finally feel relieved and confident that this pregnancy is on track. I had an ultrasound yesterday and they confirmed that my placenta is out of the way, which means: no need to schedule a Cesarian! Two good things about the ultrasound appointment: 1) Becky, the ultrasound tech, was so nice, and asked if I had any good pictures of the baby yet. I told her that no, the little bugger had been quite shy at the other two ultrasounds I'd had, and all I really had a good picture of was her foot. Becky laughed and said she would try her best. And she did! She had me lay on my side, switch sides, jiggled my belly, and even started talking to the babe to try and get her to show us her face. In the end, it worked. She got a couple good profile shots, some straight-on shots, and even a decent "3-D" pic. Normally I don't like those, but in this one, it sort of looks like miss thing is grinning a little. Like.. ha, ha, mom - just kidding, here I am! :)
 
The funny thing was, even before we did the 3-D one, Becky said - "oh my, she's got a lot of hair already!" I guess I shouldn't be suprised. And it's kind of cool knowing they can see that already. And she's got Ava's (aka JACK's) cheeks, it looks like. Even Becky commented on how big they looked. She's head down, and about 5 lbs already. The doc came in after Becky was done and said she'll gain probably 1/4-1/2 lb each week until I deliver. So... that will put her right around 8 lbs, same as Ava.

Second good thing about the appointment: the doctor. He made my day by saying that by all accounts this was a picture perfect pregnancy, and that I should have no trouble having a vaginal delivery - IF THAT'S WHAT I WANTED. I loved that he put it that way! No assumptions, up to me.

It's been slightly weird, this pregnancy. Being used to seeing just one doctor with Ava, I guess I haven't really felt like I've been "taken care of" the way that I was with her. But since I've switched to the new practice, every encounter has made me just a little more relaxed, a little more at east with the entire process. I know people might think - well, you've been through this before - what's the problem? But here's the thing - while it's awesome (and by awesome I mean awe-inspiring) being pregnant and growing a little life inside of you, it's also rather scary. And I feel the most vulnerable when I'm pregnant. Perhaps out of sense of fear of the unknown, or perhaps it's the heavy sense of responsibility for this unborn life I'm carrying around. That, and trying to juggle a preschooler, work, and home - well, every mom knows how all that can add uncertainly and trepidation - especially when you're trying to get it all "right".

But. I'm starting to feel better. And I still have plently of good and confident moments, too. I had one the other day with Ava, as we were napping. She has recently begun to get a little clingly, and when I'm tired at her naptime on the weekends, I'll sometimes give in to having her come into bed with me. On this particular day, we had been in the pool and were both sunswept and tired. She fell asleep in no time, and as I watched her little angle face in dreamland, I had a flashback to when she was an infant and took naps with me in the same way. She had the same look on her face as she did then, and I thought - hey, I can do this again. It was a little moment, but it brought me some peace.

And speaking of moments, I had a slightly surreal one with the peanut last night. She likes to move - a LOT. My stomach sometimes looks like a wave pool. But last night, my bellybutton was being poked from the inside. It went from being an "innie" to an "outie" about 3 times before she got settled into whatever position she was tying to get it. It was a weird feeling, but it looked even weirder. I wish I couldn've gotten a video of it. Mostly just to freak people out. :)

Next up... touring the hospital and hiring a doula!

Peace out.
Maria
7/12/2012 09:28:57 pm

Yay! So happy all is well!

Reply
Hannah
7/12/2012 11:26:34 pm

Awesome! Love that you are feeling better about everything and that you got some great pics! She looks like Ava (in the second pic at least). :) Can't wait to meet her.

Reply
Mom
7/13/2012 01:42:50 am

love the blog, the baby girls (all three) and the it is going well!

Reply



Leave a Reply.