I thought maybe I could escape them this time around. Oh no, my friend. Leg cramps are back with a vengence. I woke up yesterday morning and was laughing and screaming at the same time. Because what are you supposed to do when you get a leg cramp? Straighten out our leg and pull your toes up? Well, I can't REACH my toes with my leg straight. And Jack was asleep int he other bedroom (trying to spare me his snoring). So I'm writhing around on the bed trying to figure out how to pull my toes up and straighten/massage my leg at the same time. Oh, the horror. And the hilarity, really... But seriously, my leg still hurts today. Charlie Horses are the WORST! I need some bananas - STAT.

But at least the weather has broken, for now, of the ridiculously hot and humid high 90 degree temps. I move slow nowadays, but it's even worse in this hot soup of a summer. NOT TO MENTION that babygirl is still doing what feels like sommersaults. I seriously wonder if there such a thing as too much movement for a baby in utero. My collegues are getting a kick out of seeing my belly move like an undulating beachball, but I've had enough hiccups at 3am to last me for a while (hers, not mine).

But let me talk about Ava for a minute. The girl is growing up before my very eyes. It's amazing and scary, and makes me realize how fast time flies. She has gone from somwhat disinterestly playing with her toys to full-on imagination hijinx with anything that has a plastic torso and fake hair. And singing entire songs that she's learning at daycare! I have to learn these songs. It makes me tear up just thinking about her sweet voice singing something about "The big mama duck says quack, quack, quack..." (of course, she could be singing about me, since I do tend to waddle these days)

She is so full of intense emotion about EVERYTHING, these days too. I hope I am doing right by her. And that we handling introducing her baby sister into her world in a way that is not too disruptive. Although, to be honest, I know she will be fine. All kids adjust. But for all her sassiness, rebellion, and stubborness, all she wants is to be loved by everyone. She is the sweetest, even when she's driving me crazy. To hear a 3 year old say "But I can't sleep because I NEED you, for the 400th time at 9:30 at night, is enough to put a pregnant lady over the edge. But really - who doesn't want to be needed? And who doesn't love it that at least at this age, your daughter isn't afraid to tell you.
Hannah
7/26/2012 04:02:19 am

I NEED you to send a belly pic or video of baby girl! I also NEED to FaceTime with miss Ava. She really is such a sweetie and has such a cute personality! Miss you and love you!

Reply
Mom
7/26/2012 07:00:33 am

Precious description of Ava....and your heart. Can't wait for it to multiply and to meet "Lily". I know...not her name, but I don't know what her name is. Yet. Love you.

Reply



Leave a Reply.